09 December 2010

2010 Schlamadinger Prize winner announced

Climate Policy, with support from TerraCarbon, Joanneum Research, and Climate Strategies, has announced the winner of the inaugural, 2010 Schlamadinger Prize. 

Country Stakes in Climate Change Negotiations: Two Dimensions of Vulnerability
Piet Buys 1, Uwe Deichmann 1, Craig Meisner 1, Thao Ton That 2, David Wheeler 3

1 Development Research Group, The World Bank Washington, DC, USA.
2 UNEP/GRID Geneva, Châtelaine, Switzerland.
3 Center for Global Development, Washington, DC, USA.

The panel of judges found this article particularly innovative as it assessed developing countries’ likely attitudes to international climate treaties. The research employed a comprehensive geo-referenced database of indicators relating to global climate change impact vulnerabilities and energy resources. The thorough analysis and the resulting detailed country-level information helped to explain what incentives are required to make the establishment of such agreements more likely. This article is a timely input for the current international negotiations for a new climate agreement, where the participation of developing countries is of high importance.

The Schlamadinger Prize was created in memory of Dr. Bernhard Schlamadinger, co-founder of TerraCarbon LLC and world renowned forestry and climate change expert. The prize is awarded for the best climate policy paper in the field of forestry, land use, or bioenergy that is accepted for publication in the Climate Policy Journal.

Related Download:
2010 Schlamadinger Prize Announcement

View all news articles »